Back to overview

EAU19 honours innovators and notable contributions

The vocal prowess of “Carmen”, the name of the lead and title of the iconic opera by French composer Georges Bizet, echoed throughout the auditorium and kick-started the opening of the EAU19 Congress.

At the Opening Ceremony, EAU Secretary General Prof. Christopher Chapple (GB) welcomed the delegates to Europe’s biggest urological event. Prof. Chapple also emphasised the need for well-trained urological nurses and the importance of the cooperation between the EAU and the European Association of Urology Nurses (EAUN). He encouraged participants to ensure that their institutions’ best nurses are represented by the EAUN as the nurses will receive training opportunities and educational resources via the EAUN membership. The 20th International EAUN meeting will commence today, 16 March, in conjunction with EAU19.

Distinguished recipients of this year’s Honorary Memberships were recognised at the ceremony: Prof. Dr. Yuri Alyaev (RU), Prof. Dr. Michael Droller (US), Prof. Hartwig Huland (DE), Prof. Michael Jewett (CA), and Prof. Dr. Jørgen Nordling (DK).

Two of these renowned beneficiaries expressed  their gratitude for their patients. Prof. Huland said, “My advice to those who want to pursue academic urology, learn from your patients. What we’ve learned from the patients we’ve treated will benefit the next generation of patients.”

Prof. Jewett stated, “I would like to thank the patients that I’ve looked after for what they’ve taught me. I’m now pursuing the study of engaging patients and activating them in their care which, I believe if it was a drug will be a ‘blockbuster drug’ that will impact on overall survival of these cancer specialties.”

The Opening Ceremony also highlighted this year’s awardees: Prof. Freddie Hamdy (GB) was recipient of EAU’s top honour, the Willy Gregoir Medal. He said, “One of my passions is to develop academic careers. I discovered early that success follows seed and soil. There are amazing seeds in our training community but they will only succeed if they are embedded in fertile soil. It is therefore our responsibility to provide this environment to our department.”

Other notable awardees included current EAU Adjunct Secretary General – Science, Prof. Dr. Francesco Montorsi (IT), who accepted the EAU Frans Debruyne Lifetime Achievement Award; Dr. Maarten Albersen (BE) who won the EAU Crystal Matula Award; Dr. Giuseppe Simone (IT) who received the EAU Hans Marberger Award; and Prof. Peter Alken (DE), who was recipient of The Innovator in Urology Award.

The EAU Ernest Desnos Prize was granted to medical company, KARL STORZ SE & Co. KG, for extraordinary contributions to the field of urological history. Dr. Sybill Storz (DE), daughter of company founder Mr. Karl Storz accepted the accolade.

The last awardee of the evening,  Dr. Veeru Kasivisvanathan (GB) shared “To all of you out there who dream of doing something, keep working at it because anything is possible.” Dr. Kasivisvanathan received the EAU Prostate Cancer Research Award.

The final acts of “Carmen” marked a festive conclusion of the ceremony, which  was followed by the EAU Networking Reception.