Every year the EAU hands out a number of prestigious awards to recognise and celebrate dedication and innovation in urological research and practice.

Traditionally handed out at the Annual EAU Congress, the awards are a vital acknowledgement of the fact that the international urological community is progressive and continues to push the limits of what is known to mankind today. Also this year the awards will be handed out during the 35th Annual EAU Congress in Amsterdam. The award winners will also be recognised in the EAU Award Gallery and the programme book.


EAU Best Papers published in Urological Literature Awards

The two EAU Prizes for Best Paper published in Urological Literature are tools through which the EAU encourages young and promising urological scientists to continue their work and to communicate their achievements to the European urological community.

Two awards of € 5,000 each will be made available for the two Best Papers published in Urological Literature on Clinical and Fundamental Research. These papers have to be published or accepted for publication between 1 July 2018 and 30 June 2019.

More information


EAU Hans Marberger Award

The EAU Hans Marberger Award 2020 will be handed out for the best European paper published on Minimally Invasive Surgery in Urology. The award, annually given since 2004, is named after Prof. Hans Marberger to honour his pioneering achievements and contributions to endourology and the development of urologic minimally invasive surgical procedures.

The award includes a € 5,000 grant and will be made available for the best paper in this category which has been published or accepted for publication in an European journal between 1 July 2018 and 30 June 2019.

More information


EAU Prostate Cancer Research Award

With the goal to encourage innovative, high-quality research in prostate cancer, the EAU has launched the EAU Prostate Cancer Research Award. An expert jury will select the best paper.

The award includes a grant of € 5,000 and will be awarded to the best paper on clinical or experimental studies in prostate cancer research published or accepted by a renowned international scientific journal between 1 July 2018 and 30 June 2019.

More information


EAU Crystal Matula Award

The EAU Crystal Matula Award 2020 is the most prestigious prize given to a young promising European urologist under the age of 40 who has the potential to become one of the future leaders in academic European urology. National Societies can nominate a candidate for this award.

The award includes a € 10,000 grant.

More information


ESUI Vision Award 2020

The EAU Section of Urological Imaging (ESUI) is calling for abstracts for the ESUI Vision Award 2020, which will be given to the first author of the most innovative imaging study published in urology during the last year.

The award includes a € 1,500 grant and will be handed out at the 35th Annual EAU Congress in Amsterdam during the ESUI section meeting, on Saturday, 21 March 2020.

More information


Previous Winners

For an extended overview of all awards and previous winners please visit the EAU Award Gallery